WAGE Lifetime Honorary Members

This honour is bestowed on those who have made a major contribution to gastroenterology and/or endoscopy in Wales but are not eligible for membership.  

Usually this is either due to being resident and working outside Wales, or being a manager rather than a healthcare professional.  As of the end of 2016 there are five lifetime members.  

Drs Amanda Beale (Bristol) and Reuben Ayres (Exeter) who have been faculty to Welsh Endoscopy Training Network (WETN) courses over many years.  

Ms Claire Lloyd supported the endoscopy service in Wales in service development for a decade 2004-14 within various agencies, and Mrs Hayley Heard was Programme Lead for Bowel Screening Wales from 2007 and now heads up this service.  

Dr Neil Warren is Director of Welsh Institute for Minimal Access Technology (WIMAT) which hosts the WETN.  Stuart Goddard is a Senior Technician within WIMAT who has been instrumental in developing simulators and animal models to assist with training in surgery and therapeutic endoscopy.